Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Cerinthe major 'Purpurascens'

Honeywort

Hardy Annual

 Customer Rating
Also known as Honeywort, this unusual annual bears rounded, blue-green leaves on slender, upright stems. From late spring onwards masses of nodding, rich purple flowers, surrounded by blue-purple bracts appear at the stem tips, which are highly attractive to bees. With a bushy habit, Cerinthe major ‘Purpurascens’ is a fantastic addition to annual beds or used to fill gaps in herbaceous borders, where it is happy in any well drained soil. Height: 60cm (24"). Spread: 45cm (18").

Ideal For:
cottage gardens, wildlife gardens
Flowering Period:
May, June, July, August, September
Position:
full sun
    • 3 Postiplug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of August 2014
    • £10.99
    • 6 Postiplug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of August 2014
    • £16.99
Pot up Cerinthe plants and grow them on in frost free conditions until large enough to plant outdoors. When Cerinthe plants are well grown, acclimatise them to outdoor conditions over 7 to 10 days. Plant Honeywort in full sun or part shade, in poor, well drained neutral or alkaline soil. On heavier soils, incorporate plenty of grit to improve drainage, prior to planting.
Water regularly until plants are fully established. Honeywort plants seed freely. If seedlings are not required, deadhead the faded Cerinthe flowers as they fade.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Poor!

    By Nicola Shires 24-05-2014

    As with the first customer, I received these plants on around 5th May and they were all dead. I have emailed 3 times now and have yet to get a response. I'm very disappointed and for £7.99 for 3 plants, I expected a bit better quality and bigger plants to be honest. I have ordered from Thompson and Morgan before and had no problems but will seriously think twice about doing so in the future as the quality and customer service I have experienced with this purchase is frankly very poor.

    Natalie
    26-05-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. Our Customer care team are working tremendously hard to resolve all as quickly as possible. I am very sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

  2. Very disappointed

    By Kelly Willmott 20-05-2014

    I received these a couple of weeks ago. The plugs were bone dry and crumbling in the parcel. After notifying T-M I still haven't heard anything back. Poor.

    Natalie
    20-05-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. Our Customer care team have been inundated with queries and are working tremendously hard to resolve all as quickly as possible. I am very sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

  3. A real showstopper!

    By Anne Lumsden 19-10-2013

    I had never heard of Cerinthe before, but it will certainly be a necessity in my garden from now on. Our garden is on a corner and everyone who passes comments on how interesting and colourful these plants are. The leaves are a beautiful bluey-green colour and the flowers blue-purple. They have really done well with this year's fantastic summer and I look forward to ordering again for next season.

  4. great plants in a wildlife garden

    By a childs 30-07-2013

    Very pleased with this purchase as always from t&m. as soon as they arrived I planted them in 3 inch pots thinking that will do until next spring. after a bit of a slow start they went mad and now i have to find some spaces in the garden this year to plant them as they are all full of flower buds, a pleasant surprise this year after such a cold spring.

  5. What a fantastic plant! Great for bees too!

    By Simon Stephenson 18-12-2012

    I have only been hooked by gardening for the last 4yrs since my mid 30's but I was overjoyed that my gardening parents hadn't a clue what this plant was. Everyone visiting my back garden commented on it and after I thought it had packed up and had given it a prune it bounced back with a second flourish until a harsh early frost. A must for nature lovers as it was a bee hotspot for many months.

  6. Try something different

    By Wendy Stanbury 29-09-2012

    I'd never heard or seen these plants before so wasn't quite sure how they would look or turn out. I didn't need to worry, they grew very quickly and I was soon rewarded with purple/mauve nodding bell like flowers. The foliage also adds interest with it's white spotty leaves. Once they got a bit leggy I cut them down and they grew again to give another lovely show of flowers. Very easy plants to maintain.

  7. Stunning plants, really eyecatching

    By Elizabeth Peck 15-07-2012

    These are really stunning plants, they seem to glow in amongst the othe plants in the border. It's true about the bees as well, they love them!

  8. Cerinthe major

    By Patricia Hazard 05-06-2012

    This is a lovely plant and very unusual. All 3 plants arrived safely and were extremely healthy. They are already flowering in my garden and I am thrilled to bits. Thank you very much

  9. Very good value for money

    By Nadine Must 23-05-2012

    I bought the 6 x 5cm potted plants and managed to grow 20 very healthy plants; each pot have about 3 to 4 seedlings that I managed to separate. I am looking forward to seeing the lovely blooms this summer

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.