Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Foxglove 'Illumination Pink'

Digitalis

Half-hardy Perennial

 Customer Rating

  • Winner of Plant of the Year 2012 - RHS Chelsea Flower Show, Best new product at the Anglian Business Awards, Best new product at the Garden Retail awards
  • World Exclusive
  • T&M's own breeding

Thought to be an impossible hybridisation, this is the most spectacular foxglove you will have ever seen! Parentage from the little-known Isoplexis (Canary Island Foxglove) gives this exciting new Digitalis its fabulous tropical colouring. Being completely sterile Foxglove ‘Illumination’ won’t set seed, giving it an incredibly long flowering period. Unlike most foxgloves which are generally biennial, this half-hardy semi-evergreen is a true perennial so you will be able to enjoy its flowers for years to come. The exotic looking blooms are densely packed on sturdy stems, with many side branches, making a striking addition to summer borders. Height: 90cm (36"). Spread: 45cm (18").

Useful links:

'Impossible' Foxglove named Plant of the Year at RHS Chelsea Flower Show
Gardening news: Top 10 best-selling plants of 2012
Read Michael Perry's blog: Futuristic Foxgloves

Ideal For:
patio, cottage gardens, wildlife gardens, cut flower garden, woodland garden
Flowering Period:
June, July, August, September, October, November
Position:
sun or semi shade, dappled shade
    • 1 x 9cm potted plant

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £9.99
    • 3 x 9cm potted plant

    • SAVE £9.99  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £29.97 £19.98
Pot up digitalis plants and grow them on in frost free conditions for transplanting outdoors later on. When plants are well-grown and all risk of frost has passed, acclimatise them to outdoor conditions over a period of 7 to 10 days, before planting them in borders and containers in sun or partial shade. If plants are received in the autumn, pot them up and grow them on in cool, bright, frost-free conditions over winter. Although foxgloves prefer a fertile, moist soil, they will happily tolerate almost any soil except those that are excessively dry or waterlogged.
Water foxglove plants regularly until fully established. In autumn, cut back faded foxglove flower stems to encourage plenty of new side shoots. During the winter months, move containers of Foxglove 'Illumination Pink' to a position with a minimum temperature of 0°C (32°F), and water sparingly. Lift border-grown plants and pot them up for over-wintering. Caution: All parts of digitalis plants are harmful if eaten and contact with the foliage may irritate the skin and eyes.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Dissapoint ment again

    By Jeanette Stickells 08-08-2014

    I bought three of these only one has survived as they where so small when they arrived and the one surviving does look lovely hoping this one self seeds and I will get more

    Joe
    12/08/14

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  2. black bugs running over the roots

    By Catherine Dudley 05-07-2014

    I have two of these bought last year, first one plant and now the other plant has little black bus running in the soil around the roots? Please help

    Natalie
    07-07-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  3. Most disappointing purchase

    By Katherine Melia 03-07-2014

    I have 6 of these, one is near dead, the others look rusty and diseased with very little growth and only one has produced about 6 little flowers that died within days. I have 3 in pots and 3 in the ground, they are the only plant I have that is not thriving! They look very sad.

    Natalie
    04-07-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  4. Hardy or not?? Confused

    By Angela Wallis 03-07-2014

    Bought 3 plants at the beginning of the year. They were sold as hardy perennials. Now your after care states that they need lifting and overwintering. Are they hardy or not??? Feel like I've been misled

    Natalie
    04-07-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  5. No longer being called hardy....

    By chris costin 20-05-2014

    After buying 12 of these it's now been anounced that these are not even frost hardy and another website is selling them as bi annual . This is not what was described at purchase. Granted they do look lovely but I do feel deceived.

    Natalie
    20-05-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  6. Top Plant!

    By Wendy Stanbury 14-09-2013

    I put the 3 plants into one pot and I got a cracking display. The plants shot up copious amounts of stems covered in lovely peach with pink edged foxglove flowers. I can see why this plant was a winner of the Chelsea Flower show, really beautiful flowers and lots of them! They have flowered all summer long. The bees loved them too! Top plant!

  7. illumination pink foxgloves

    By michael osborne 13-08-2013

    a beautiful display of flowers which are never ending,an exceptional variety of foxglove.

  8. replacement plants.

    By geoffrey j taylor 15-06-2013

    thank you very much for replacement new plants.[ for others to be delivered 2014]. they are excellent plants. and lovely new varieties. be interesting to see them develop.

  9. Illumination Pink

    By Derek Cooper 25-08-2012

    I am amazed by the repeat flowering qualities of these plants.I ordered and received two separate lots arriving about two months apart.The first lot are still going strong and the second lot are just coming into flower.Truly prizewinning!

  10. T & M Special

    By Peter Humphrey 21-08-2012

    I took advantage of T & M's offer twice before they won the award and I must say they certainly deserved it. Not only were these fast growing , they also produced really impressive flower spikes of very pretty flowers. The other bonus is the fact the flowers face upward so I can see the flowers without kneeling down, time is taking it's toll on me!. I have cut back the old spikes and they have rewarded me with further blooms.

  11. illumination pink in bloom

    By virginia james 21-07-2012

    I purchased three "illumination pink" digitalis a few months ago, not expecting them to bloom till next year. Each one has put on an incredible spurt of growth and all are now in full bloom. My expectations have been surpassed. A big thank you to the team for this new and very welcome addition to my garden.

  12. Foxgloves

    By Yvonne Eldridge 31-05-2012

    So excited that you won the award with a flower we all know and many love, looking forward to having them growing in my garden next year. Congratulations to you all on your hard work and on the award so pleased for you.

  13. These were a bargain

    By Peter Humphrey 27-04-2012

    I took advantage of T & M's offer a week or so ago. The plants arrived in jumbo plug form. I have to say i was amazed at the size of the plants. Nonetheless I have potted them up and have them in the cold frame for a couple of weeks. I am looking forward to seeing these in bloom. Well worth the money!! Thank you T & M

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.