Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Tree Lily® Collection

Lilium, Oriental Lily

Hardy Bulb

  • 8ft tall in as little as 2 years
  • One bulb produces up to 30 trumpet blooms
  • Fantastic, sweet and fresh fragrance
 Customer Rating

Tree lilies® are the breathtaking result of years of painstaking breeding; these incredible varieties of oriental lily can grow as tall as 2.5m (8ft) in as little as two years. One single Tree Lily® bulb can produce up to thirty 20cm (8”) trumpet blooms and will take on a shrub-like appearance over the years.

The sturdy stalks are almost 5cm (2”) thick, so they won't need supporting and the foliage remains lush all season. It couldn't be easier. Grow them through shrubs in borders, against walls and fences, or in large pots for the patio, and let them look after themselves. Height: 2.5m (8’). Spread: 60cm (24”).

  • Collection comprises:
  • Tree Lily® ‘Yellow Rocket’ - Silken yellow petals fade to creamy white edges.
  • Tree Lily® ‘Starburst’ - Shimmering gold, perfumed blooms are flushed with crimson red.
  • Tree Lily® ‘Pink Explosion’ - Sumptuous backward curving, pink petals and an exquisite fragrance to match.

Useful links:

How to grow bulbs, corms and tubers

Gardening news: Top 10 best-selling plants of 2012

Ideal For:
patio, scented gardens, exotic garden, cut flower garden
Flowering Period:
July, August
Position:
sun or semi shade
    • 9 top-size lily bulbs - 3 of each variety

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of February 2015
    • £14.99
    • 18 top size lily bulbs - 6 of each variety

    • SAVE £34.95  
    • Despatch: By end of February 2015
    • £59.94 £24.99
Oriental lilies prefer a moist, free draining, neutral to acid soil that is rich in organic matter. Prior to planting, add plenty of well rotted manure or garden compost to the soil to give your tree lilies® the best start. When growing lilies in containers, use a loam based compost such as John Innes No.2. Lily bulbs should be planted at a depth of approximately 3 times their own height and 15cm (6") apart. Planting deeply helps to protect the bulb during particularly hot periods. Choose a sheltered, sunny position where lilies will grow with their heads in the sun and their roots in the shade.
Feed and water Oriental lily bulbs regularly throughout the growing season, keeping them moist at all times. Deadhead faded blooms at the base of the flower where they join the stem to prevent the development of seed pods. When cutting Oriental lily flowers for indoor arrangements, it is important to leave a third of the stem intact in order to feed the bulb for the following year. After flowering leave the stems intact until they begin to yellow in autumn. Reduce watering and move containers of lilies to a cool, frost free position over winter. Lilies grown in borders can be lifted, cleaned and stored for the winter, however in mild areas most lilies should survive outdoors provided that the soil is not too wet. A mulch of well rotted manure or garden compost should be applied in spring. Divide and repot container grown lilies into fresh compost every other year. Caution: All parts of Oriental lilies are toxic to cats.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Stunning

    By joanna cowie 01-10-2014

    I planted my tree lily bulbs quite late as I didn't send for them as early as I should have done. Consequently I wasn't expecting much from them this year. How wrong I was! The container grown bulbs are now flowering in early October and are absolutely stunning with a scent that is heavenly. I have had many admiring stares into my garden and I overheard one couple debating whether the lilies were artificial as it was the wrong time for blooms to flourish. I just hope they can return next year with such beauty and vigour as they are the highlight of my season! I just hope the late flowering won't affect the bulbs for next year but if this happens it is a small price to pay.

    Natalie
    02/10/14

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  2. Excellent display in containers

    By Jonathan Spencer 19-07-2014

    Left a comment last year to say how good these are. Even better this year and compensates for a few disappointments at T&M products this year.

    Natalie
    21-07-2014

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service. However, if you do have any concerns over your T&M products, please feel free to contact our customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com and one of our agents will be happy to help.

  3. Fantastic Flowers

    By Louise Madden 29-08-2013

    Wonderful exotic style blooms - add real pzazz to the garden/patio.

  4. Excellent

    By Jonathan Spencer 10-08-2013

    Wonderful display of huge flowers with an almost overpowering scent. Fantastically showy flowers in first year. Regarding Jane Forster's warning about slugs and lily beetles, I, too, have been plagued by these pests and the red lily beetle must be the most disgusting one of the lot. I was determined that this year they would not get my plants which are all in containers, so I applied a good slug repellent as the lilies were shooting and applied a good bug spray that claimed to kill lily beetles after the plants had developed but well before flowering. Touch wood, it worked and there is only minor pest damage and, most importantly, no sign of the filthy damage by lily beetle. OK, it's not organic but far preferable to the havoc wrought in the past by these little devils when I have tried to control them by picking them off by hand.

  5. Great bulbs

    By steven gimenez 07-05-2013

    Cant wait to see these flower in the summer I've ordered 3 of each variety and just planted them out, great service from T&M came in the post very good quality bulbs which were well packed and labeled and took only a few days to come now all I have to do is wait for summer :) happy gardening everyone

  6. Great Flowers but a warning

    By Jane Forster 04-02-2013

    Make sure young plants are protected from slugs they love them, and keep an eye out for the little red lily beetle as they can also harm young plants. First year I had these they were great, did what it said on the tin. Thought I could leave them in the ground to flower next year however little did I know that as the plants returned the slugs had at them, those that got through that onslaught were got by the beetle. Maybe I was unlucky but I have warned you!

  7. Impressive

    By pauline jollands 30-12-2012

    I was a wee bit sceptical about the write-up but ordered 6 plants-2 of each colour-and when they bloomed Thompson & Morgan were right in saying they are breathtaking- both in size and the amount of blooms. Will be ordering some more.

  8. beautiful lilys

    By lorraine bailey 15-08-2012

    this is the first time i have grown these lovely tree lilys .I planted four lilys in a large tub twelve in all between three tubs and they are stood near my bird aviary.the perfume whaffs from them every time i walk by them .they are at least three foot in height and were planted a couple of months ago .all my family and friends comment on how lovely they are so much that a friend has just placed a order.they are very impressive love them the colours are stunning

  9. Stunning and easy to grow.

    By caroline McKay 12-08-2012

    I bought these when they were on a special offer and they are stunning, there is two of them that have grown well in each location and one that is rather stunted with no flower heads, some got eaten though and the flower heads are awfully tasty to snails, at the moment the only ones to be in flower are a salmony colour with yellow innards they are absolutely stunning and smell amazing, once they start to open there is no stopping them. I would love some more of these, they were only planted a couple of months ago and the tallest of them are approximately 3 and a half foot with minimum 4 flower heads on, that is really good for a couple of months settlement, I cannot wait to see them flourish in the years to come, just be waned protect them from lilly beetles and hungry slugs and snails.

  10. Incredible fragrance

    By Simon Devlin 17-08-2011

    Lovely. First time I've grown them (first time I've grown much of anything, really). Pretty good hit rate - 3 are stunted and a couple died (I think through waterlogging), but the ones that made it to full bloom are fabulous. The fragrance is incredible - so much so that I think they'd be too intense as cut flowers for indoors. Blooms are 4-5" across, stems reached approx 3ft. Next time will plant a little deeper as they're top heaving and have needed a little staking for stability. Pictures at https://picasaweb.google.com/102661778527584542635/TreeLily?authuser=0&feat=directlink Simon

  11. tree lily collection

    By lianne martin 16-08-2011

    these are fab ,i get lots of comments on them from people when they see them on my frount garden.Iam on the second year with them and this year they grew even bigger with lots of scent .I will definatly order some more for my back garden .

  12. Tree lily collection

    By barbara wike 15-08-2011

    wow,these are just amazing !!!!!!!! , I am NOT a great gardiner,but these are foolproof,planted them in patio containers ,and up and up they grew it was like watching jack and the beanstork !!!!! Got my first flower today ,the most beautifull,heaven smelling thing to behold.my garden will smell kike a paridise island,and the flower is HUGE.so pleased in everyway possible.

  13. tree lily bulbs

    By Jess McDonald 03-07-2011

    I ordered these bulbs in February and they were delivered slightly late in May. However, they looked really healthy. I planted the same day they arrived and watched with anticipation as I really wanted these lilies in my garden. It is now the 3 July and they are now about 18 inches tall. I cannot wait for them to flower. I have been ordering from T&M for a few years now, especially using the Gardner's World offers, and have only had a couple of plants fail. Not bad considering plants are a natural product and subject to many conditions which can very easily wipe them out!

  14. Tree Lily Collection

    By Yvette Fielding 30-06-2011

    Only six weeks ago I purchased a Tree Lily Collection from Thompson and Morgan and as with all my previous purchases I am overjoyed with my selection.The fist sized bulbs were planted immediately and within a fortnight were showing their heads-much to my excitement!Though they havent flowered yet they are growing at an amazing rate and I am waiting with bated breath to witness their flowers.They are sturdy healthy looking plants which I would recommend to any gardener novice or experienced.

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.