Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Rudbeckia hirta 'Cherry Brandy'

Coneflower, Black-eyed Susan

Half-hardy Annual

 Customer Rating
  • Best in class for rudbeckias
  • Cut flowers last 2 weeks
  • T&M's own breeding

Thompson & Morgan's plant breeders are proud to present the first-ever red rudbeckia! These robust plants have outstanding garden performance, producing a mass of attractive, cherry-coloured blooms all summer long. Triumphing over heat and poor soils, these versatile coneflowers look stunning when planted beds, large patio containers, or as sweeping drifts in herbaceous borders. Height: 60cm (24”). Spread: 40cm (16”).

Ideal For:
patio, wildlife gardens, cut flower garden
Flowering Period:
July, August, September, October
Position:
sun or semi shade
    • 12 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of April 2015
    • £4.99
    • 36 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of April 2015
    • £12.99
    • 72 plug plants

    • Double up 36 to 72 for £5 extra  
    • Despatch: By end of April 2015
    • £17.99
Pot up rudbeckia plants and grow them on in frost free conditions for transplanting outdoors later on. When plants are well-grown and all risk of frost has passed, acclimatise them to outdoor conditions over a period of 7 to 10 days, before planting them outdoors in sun or partial shade. Rudbeckia enjoys a fertile, preferably heavy soil that is rich in organic matter and well drained. Coneflowers resent drought and dislike soils that dry out in summer.
Feed and water rudbeckia plants regularly. Deadhead faded rudbeckia flowers to encourage more blooms to be produced.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Autumn colour

    By Denise Doherty 15-09-2012

    Started flowering about a week ago and they really are now coming into their own. Used for filling in gaps in my borders and I am very impressed. There are not two flowers exactly the same, but all of them are equally as nice. Really lovely and a great plug plant success rate.

  2. sublime

    By Enacarnacion Sullivan 09-09-2011

    By Karen Sullivan 09-09-2011 Beautiful, eye-catching blooms from mid-July onwards and grown from seeds. Very robust and healthy despite the strong winds! Very impressive and exactly as seen in the t&m catalogue.

  3. Beautiful!

    By Stephanie Pollard 04-09-2011

    I bought these from T&M they have just started flowering! A beautiful rich cherry coloured flower, non fragrant, gorgeous dark green foliage. Look great in borders or pots. Autumnal colour that looks fantastic against 'Rustic dwarf rudbeckia' or the taller 'Goldstrum' All budding or flowering right now (Early Sept) Highly recommended!

  4. excellent

    By linda hirst 30-08-2011

    beautiful flowers and loads of them, have grown into good sized plants and all who see them are impressed, also bought on special offer and never lost a single plant,top marks t&m

  5. Fantastic!

    By Emma Rowe 24-07-2011

    I got these on special offer, they were healthy and ready for potting on. They soon filled the there new pots and were ready to be planted in the garden I didnt loose one! and had so many i had enough to share with family! Very pleased :-D They are now filling out nicely and budding up I cannot wait to see the sweeps of red flowers in my borders :-D.

  6. SO SO

    By KEVIN OCONNOR 05-07-2011

    Bought these on special offer too and only 7 out of the lot have taken. Wont be buying again!! Very poor.

  7. Good value

    By Ruth holling 08-05-2011

    Bought these on special offer and they were ready to pot on but very healthy. One or two were suffering from over crowding in the pot but I will still get over 40 plants out of the plugs supplied - thanks

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.