Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Petunia 'Tidal Wave'

Half-hardy Annual

 Customer Rating
  • WORLD EXCLUSIVE
  • Customer favourite

The sky's the limit for this spectacular climbing petunia! Masses of 10cm (4”) blooms in purple, silver and pink are produced in abundance throughout summer on long lax stems. Train them upwards on a climbing frame or let them spill over low walls for a spectacular display of vibrant colour. The delicate blooms are more tolerant of wet weather than most varieties so you are guaranteed a brilliant display whatever the weather! Height: 1.9m (6'). Spread: 90cm (3').


Includes 10 Steps to Success - a step by step guide to growing your Petunia 'Tidal Wave' plants.

To make the most of your displays, try our exclusive supportive climbing frame, specially designed to help plants to climb easily.Get the best out of your petunias with our specially formulated Petunia Fertiliser - the perfect balance of nutrients to get them off to a flying start and nourish them through the summer.

Ideal For:
patio
Flowering Period:
June, July, August, September, October
Position:
full sun
    • 12 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of April 2015
    • £11.99
    • 36 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of April 2015
    • £18.99
    • 72 plug plants

    • SAVE £47.95  
    • Despatch: By end of April 2015
    • £23.99
Pot up plugs and grow them on in warm frost-free conditions. When all risk of frost has passed, gradually acclimatise petunias to outdoor conditions over a period of 7 to 10 days and transplant them into their final positions in containers and borders. Plant climbing petunias in a sunny position with shelter from strong winds, in any light, well drained soil. Pinch out the growing tip of each stem to encourage branching and form a bushier plant which will produce more flowers later on.
Feed and water petunia plants regularly, particularly during hot, dry periods. As the long stems increase in length, tie them onto a support such as a freestanding climbing frame, using soft twine to train them upwards. Pinch the stems back for a second time. Regular deadheading of petunia flowers will encourage further blooms to be produced throughout the summer.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Wonderful

    By Jeanette Baldock 15-08-2012

    Have had so many comments, planted 4 in a large tub and they have been amazing, good height and all round width even put some in single wall baskets and these are the best ever - had a second order later on for a second tub and hanging basket and these are still looking brilliant, ordering for next year already Jeanette Baldock

  2. Still going strong after 3 years

    By Helen Toft 29-05-2012

    I still have the original plants that I put in three years ago and I am amazed each spring that they are still going and as a 'perennial' the are in flower way before anyone else's annual petunias. They have never however reached to top of the frame but this year I intend to feed well every week with the aim of getting them to the top. Brilliant plants. I do live in Weymouth on the south coast which may help.

  3. Abundance of colour

    By Diane Howard-Willis 31-03-2012

    Have these outside front door - so many comments on them by passers by - tell them where they can order!!

  4. winner

    By Alan warren 18-02-2012

    By Alan Warren 18/02/12 I have just ordered these again. I have had them since first introduced and are a must for the garden.I get comments upon comments on them. I have even had passers by taking photo's. Aprt from last years hard witer I have even had some over winter. The picture does not do them justice.

  5. Petunia 'Tidal Wave'

    By Jane Knape 04-09-2011

    From the very easy ordering process to taking delivery of our ' Tidal Waves ' .... our opinion is excellent. We have ordered these plants on many occasions and they have never failed to impress our family, friends and neighbours. So much so I have posted a photograph to Thompson & Morgan on their Facebook page, as our Petunia's are looking stunning in our balcony troughs, they drape over as described in ' Tidal Waves '. They do not disappoint, highly recommended by us !

  6. wonderful petunias

    By linda hirst 30-08-2011

    this is the second year i've grown these wonderful plants and i can't fault them top marks for scent, colour and growth they certainly do reach the sky would recommend others to try

  7. beautiful petunias

    By Katherine Hooper 31-07-2011

    I have bought these for the first time this year, the advice from Thompson & Morgan is superb & my petunias are really starting to bush out & thrive, just love the colours and cant wait untill they reach their full potential, will definately recommend them to others, Thanks Thompson & Morgan. :-)

  8. Surfinia Tidal Wave

    By Theresa Farr 24-07-2011

    Really brillint show of flowers, worth every penny will definately grow them again, just a shame there is not the same amount of colours as other surfinias, but still brilliant.

  9. Just great

    By Diana Eastwood 16-06-2011

    I would highly recommend this petunia grown up a frame mine reach six foot and just look wonder such beautiful colours and grow in hanging baskets a must my baskets look so full and they did seed them-self so some came again the following year ... i

  10. Amazing show

    By C Wakeman 30-05-2011

    These are truly brilliant - they give the most amazing show of pink and purple flowers every summer. I tend to buy new plants each year, as they are described as annuals; however I always have a good number of plants growing again from the previous year (even after such a harsh winter, there are several coming up again). Fantastic plants, great value for money - I absolutely love them.

  11. Wonderful Climbing Petunia

    By rachel parker 21-04-2011

    I had managed to overwinter these Petunia's outside for 3 years up until the last bad winter we had, so had to purchase some more for this year. Great plant, doesn't need much deadheading as repeat flowers. Can we have in variety of colours, please

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.