Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Pansy 'Matrix™ Mixed'

Viola x wittrockiana

Hardy Perennial

 Customer Rating

  • Colour throughout winter and spring
  • 100% bigger, better and stronger than Pansy 'Universal'

This vibrant blend has been specially bred for their excellent branching habit and super size flowers; and the results speak for themselves! The compact sturdy stems hold their vibrant flower heads high, whatever the weather brings to ensure your garden is filled with colour. Easy to grow, Pansy 'Matrix Mixed' is the perfect plant for all your containers and bedding displays. Height and spread: 23cm (9").

Culinary note: Some parts of these flowers are edible. The crystallised petals are great decorations for cakes and cookies, or they can be added straight to green salads for an injection of colour. For more details about edible flowers click here.


Buy this variety in a larger plant size

Ideal For:
patio, cottage gardens
Flowering Period:
January, February, March, April, May
sun or semi shade
    • 36 pansy plug plants

    • + FREE £5 voucher  
    • Despatch: By end of November 2016
    • £6.99
    • 72 pansy plug plants

    • + FREE £5 voucher  
    • Despatch: By end of November 2016
    • £9.99
Plug plants can be planted directly into flower pouches™. For baskets, beds and window boxes, pot up plants for transplanting at a later date. Grow them on in cool, bright conditions, watering sparingly until plugs are fully rooted in. When pansy plants are well grown, acclimatise them to outdoor conditions over 7 to 10 days, prior to planting in their final positions.
Grow pansies and violas in any well drained soil, in sun or semi shade. Feed and water frequently, but take care not to overwater in winter as this can cause root damage should the compost freeze. Deadhead faded pansy flowers before they set seed to prolong the flowering period.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.

Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.

Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

  1. Growing fine - good value - but they are SMALL plants

    By P GH 31-12-2015

    I'm very happy with my Pansy plants as received from T&M. They were good value; though I do make good use of T&M's offers/vouchers/codes from my previous purchases and offers found in national newspapers. Received my plants in autumn, potted them up and have been growing them under protection for the past two months. They all still look fine and very healthy, have grown quite a bit, and I fully expect them to be big enough to plant out in early March, when I am sure they will quickly begin to flower very nicely. You just have to remember that in order to get 36 (or 72) plants into an envelope that fits through your letterbox, T&M obviously do have to make them pretty small. Dont expect plants the size (and price!) of your local garden center and you won't be disappointed. If you want bigger plants, T&M do offer maxi-plugs ... but expect to pay a bit more for them. If you want a lot of plants at a very cheap price, these are a bargain!


    Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you have been happy with your purchase and thank you so much for taking the time to let us know. I hope we can continue to be of service to you in the future.

  2. pansy Matrix Mixed

    By barbara peers 28-09-2015

    we were expecting plug plants and not mini plug plants so small we will not be having a great display, by the time the plants are big and ready to flower it will be time to start thinking of summer plants,very very disappointment.


    Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the problems you have had with your purchase. I understand that you have now been contacted and your query is being resolved. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you have any further queries.

Post a review
Title of review

Rating 1 2 3 4 5
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.