Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Potato 'Sarpo Mira'

Solanum tuberosum

Tender Tuber

 Customer Rating

Late maincrop.

This late maincrop variety has it all - unprecedented blight resistance, good slug resistance, vigorous weed suppressing foliage, and it grows well in a wide range of soils. Potato 'Sarpo Mira' produces huge yields of tasty, floury tubers that have a long storage potential. A real all-rounder for all cooking purposes. Height and spread: 60cm (24").


Organic 'Sarpo Mira' has Organic Certification approved by The Soil Association.


Useful links:

How to grow potatoes in the groundPotato Selector Guide
How to grow potatoes in bags     How to stop blight

Ideal For:
kitchen garden
Position:
full sun
    • 10 potato tubers

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of January 2015
    • £2.99
    • 20 potato tubers

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of January 2015
    • £4.99
    • 20 potato tubers (organic)

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of January 2015
    • £6.99
    • 25kg of potato tubers

    •  
    • Despatch:
    • £29.99
    • Out of stock
    • 60 potato tubers

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of January 2015
    • £12.99

Plant maincrop potatoes from March. Prior to planting, 'chit' the seed potatoes by setting them out in a cool, bright position (10C/ 50F) to allow them to sprout.


When growing maincrop potatoes in the ground avoid planting in soil where potatoes have grown for two years in succession to reduce the risk of disease. Prepare the planting area in a sheltered position in full sun on moist well drained soil. Dig in plenty of well rotted manure. Plant potatoes in rows at a spacing of 45cm (18"). Rows should be set out 75cm (2', 6") apart. Place the seed potatoes into 10cm (4") deep trenches and backfill the soil to refill the trenches. When shoots reach 20cm (8"), mound up soil around the shoots leaving just a few cm showing. Repeat this process after a further 3 weeks.


Where space is limited, try growing potatoes in potato bags on the patio. Fill the potato bags by one third with good quality compost mixed with some well rotted manure. Space 3 seed potatoes in each bag on top of the compost. Fill the bags by another third and place 2 more seed potatoes on top of the compost. Finally cover them with more compost until the bags are full. Place the bags in a sunny position and water regularly to keep the compost moist.

Weed between rows and keep potato plants well watered throughout the growing season. If the risk of frost threatens, draw some soil up around the stems to protect them, or move potato bags to a frost free position in a shed or greenhouse. Maincrop varieties can be harvested approximately 20 weeks from planting when the foliage begins to turn yellow and die back.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.


For product weight information regarding how we despatch our quantities of potatoes, onions and garlic, please see the table below. Exact weights will depend on the individual variety, as well as the weather and growing conditions experienced by the grower.

ProductMinimum Weight
Potato 5 Tubers165g
Potato 10 Tubers320g
Potato 20 Tubers655g
Exhibitor Grade Potato 10 Tubers475g
Onions 50 Sets155g
Shallots 20 Sets355g
Reviews
  1. recommend to all

    By Rajesh kumar 20-10-2014

    I am growing this variety from 2 years on my allotments. size of potatoes unbelievable .very good crop. when i dug first year, kids was saving is that sweet potatoes, this year I am trying Organic seeds tubes

    Natalie
    21/10/14

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  2. Disappointing

    By Anthony Kirkland 28-08-2014

    I grew these potatoes this year (2014) having had great success with Sarpo Una the year before. Sarpo Una were unavailable this year. The Mira were grown under the same conditions as before but produced a yield of maybe one quarter of last year's Una. This was extremely disappointing. Although they tasted good, I will not be trying them again.

    Natalie
    28/08/14

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  3. what a spud!

    By susan shorey 22-09-2013

    Grown for the first time this year on our allotment and while all others got blight these did not unbelievable! lovely size beautiful flavour great for boiled roast baking in fact all possible uses will definitely be ordering again

  4. A heavy cropper

    By Jackie Grebby 10-09-2013

    I grew these for the first time this year and have just started lifting them, getting on average 7lbs per plant. Some of the potatoes are large enough to feed 3 people! They were grown in new raised beds and planted approx 6 inches deep. As the leaves appeared I covered them with the contents of last year's compost heaps until I could no longer get more compost over them. They were grown 8 to a 4x10 foot bed.

  5. sarpo mirra potato

    By paul clarke 26-08-2012

    I have grown potatoes for many years and this is the best yet ,igrew other crops along side these which got the blight and these were totally unaffected ,size and quantity was second to none .so there is only one main crop for me now on .sarpo Mira is class all round.

  6. Reliable tasty potatoes

    By Sandra Astin 08-12-2011

    I have grown these for a few years now and find them versatile, especially for roasting and mash. They can be a bit dry but if you watch when boiling they do not go to mush. I agree that chipped they aren't the best, but you can put this down to weather conditions because in previous years they've been fine. Have got some really huge ones this season, and they really store well.

  7. Great tasting potatoes

    By Rebecca Tute 22-11-2011

    Really tasty potatoes and easy to grow - I must admit I neglected them a bit, but they grew very well and produced a good crop. They were slightly scabby, but it wasn't a problem - it only affects the skin.

  8. Huge potatoes

    By Barbara Stevenson 17-10-2011

    An extraordinary high yielding crop, most potatoes of baked potato size despite one of the driest years, and some were truly massive. Most potatoes were blemish free. It had been a totally blight free year so the resistance was never tested Trying to find ways of cooking however, has proved problematic - boils to watery mush, chips are as dry as wood, and baked potatoes need about a 1lb of butter to make them palatable. They are not the tastiest of potatoes I have to say.

    Dear Customer, Thank you for posting your review. I have spoken to our horticulturilist who has advised that it sounds as though the crop has been affected by a lack of moisture and/ or increase in sunshine/ daylight quality at crucial periods of the plant’s growing life. This year, because of the wide fluctuations and unpredictability of the weather, dry matter on all varieties, even the most reliable, are inconsistent. Ideally it would be best steam these in less water and keep a watchful eye when they reach perfection. Please feel free to contact us at ccare@thompson-morgan.com if we can be of further assistance.

  9. Brilliant crop

    By Pamela Riddet 15-09-2011

    Lovely crop of good sized red tubers. Not a mark on them. No sign of blight that did the rounds on the other allotments.

  10. Heavy cropper

    By Catherine Green 05-09-2011

    Tall strong haulms, superb cropper really large potatoes, that will roast, boil and mash. I'm not sure if mine got blight or not...blight was rife on our allotments, so when suspicious brown spots began appearing on the foliage, and some of them began to flop I cut the halums off at ground level to prevent anything spreading to the tubers just before August 12th. I have now lifted the entire crop, and they appear healthy, but there are some small holes in some of them. Last year I grew Cara and there were far more holes, and a lot of wasted potatoes.

  11. Excellent Crop

    By Duncan Pendry 04-09-2011

    While both alloments on either side of mine had blighted crops the Sarpo Mira on my plot came up trumps, no blight and excellent cropper. Ideal for roasting with fluffy edges and perfect for mash too.

  12. 1st time success

    By Delia Dunford-Swirles 31-08-2011

    2011:First time I've grown potatoes in the ground, (some new in bags previously) and I'm thrilled. Clay soil, no extra compost, they grew strongly with supeb haulm. Just beginning to have some marked and yellowing leaves at the end of August, so I dug some up, and was astonished at the quality and size of the potatoes. Little slug damage too. I have cooked them in a variety of ways, and they are delicious. I'm drying some off ready for storage, and if they stand up well, they are indeed the perfect crop! Many thanks

  13. Huge potatoes

    By Fiona Muller 31-08-2011

    Have tried to grow potatoes before but never have had ones as huge as these. This is an easy to grow variety and the slugs seem to leave them alone! Would definitely recommend them!

  14. Sarpo Mira interim review

    By John Wordsworth 27-08-2011

    I planted Mira, Axona and Blue Danube in early May for the first time as an experiment in blight resistance, using the same techniques as all other spuds: goat manure and poultry manure pellets. Location East Yorkshire on clay with chalk. The haulms have grown enormously, and are still producing new flowers at the end of August, showing no signs of dying back. Curious to know what was happening below ground we lifted one plant of each today and found Mira tubers were extremely large, with no signs of scab or slugs; Blue danube slightly smaller, perfect condition and a beautiful purple colour. Experiment now transferred to kitchen, and will update review. Bon Appetit!

  15. Good cropper

    By Sylvia West 26-08-2011

    This potato grew with very strong hulme. No blight (however, none on other crops either this year) Very little slug damage but again not on other crops apart from Blue Danube. Taste very good when cooked. Time will tell how long they keep.

  16. Sarpo mira Seed Potatoes

    By David Woodhouse 25-08-2011

    This year has been disappointing for these potatoes compared to last year. I planted three rows of potatoes, 40 plants in no., and still have one row to harvest. The two harvested have resulted in excess of 1 stone in weight of of blighted pots. Regretably blight resistant tomatoes have not feared any better, and am wondering if the seeds of both species of these, (same genus) has now lost their resistance/ They were also hit hard by eel worm. The best pots I had this year were Rooster. Not so large, but none touched by blight and only fopur had been attacked by eel worm. I shall stick with these in futer for late potatoes. D G Woodhouse

    T&M Comment - Thank you for your comment. One of our customer care team will contact you direct with some further information.

  17. excellent potato

    By annette walker 24-08-2011

    I grew these for the first time this year and am very pleased with the results, excellent quantity and quality potato and although I had some blight it did not affect these plants. Great!!!!

  18. A Good Result.

    By Christine Ridley 24-08-2011

    This is the first year I have tried these potatoes but I will be growing them again next year. They produce very sturdy plants which grew well even in spells of dry weather. They were in an open part of the allotment and weren't affected by winds. Each plant so far, has produced a good quantity of potatoes, many of them very large and firm. They are easy to scrape and the flesh is of a creamy colour. They boil without disintegrating in the pan and the flavour is excellent. Certainly what a potato fresh out of the ground should taste like.

  19. Crisp Golden Roast Potatoes

    By John Munday 24-08-2011

    My only reason for buying these potatoes was the claim for blight resistance. They certainly have more blight resistance than other potatoes, but some of tops died much earlier than others as though they had been affected by blight, though there has been no trace of blight in the tubers. As would be expected the plants, which died earlier had smaller tubers. The tubers made good salad potatoes but their real forté is for roasting and frying, as they produce wonderful crisp golden roast potaoes and chips.

  20. you can bet on

    By ahmet karagozlu 24-08-2011

    evrything been said about it is true.i did grew them next to the other werity tubers and sow that no blight on them but the rest. taste good, amount good.i say evry one should try them.whish sucses to all

  21. great spud

    By Julia Pye 24-08-2011

    I grew them last year and loved them so planted them this year as well. not dug them all up yet but the ones i have are a good size.if you like a floury potato these are the ones for you.

  22. Worthy of consideration for bad blight areas

    By S Bardoe 23-08-2011

    Over the past ten years I have trialed almost every variety of potato boasting degrees of blight resistance with somewhat mixed results. Sarpo Mira coped very well through a very prologed period of drought, putting on good growth which remained healthy even when the weather resumed its usual soggy state in the West Country. The yield was pretty good but the big HOWEVER is that, whilst Sarpo Mira is evidently blight resistant, it is clearly also very appealling to the slug population. Almost every large potato had signs of slimy visitors and could not therefore be stored. I will probably try these again but will plant them rather deeper than usual to keep them out of harms way.

  23. Why list Sarpo Mira as a maincrop?

    By Michael Emly 23-08-2011

    For many years I have tried a variety of potato varieties, mainly first early, but with limited success. Most years blight or dry weather have meant a meagre crop. Having now grown Sarpo Mira for 2 years, I am impressed by how easy and early they are, tolerant not only of poor weather conditions but also of poor soil. This year I chitted for over 6 weeks, then planted on 1st April. Despite the very dry conditions, they thrived and I was able to dig the first tubers as earlies at the very beginning of July. By then, they had already reached a reasonable size, the weight per plant was good, and they continued growing rapidly during the whole of July. Personally, I think they are best grown as an early and I dug the whole crop at the beginning of August, by which time some had reached a very good size. Later in the season, you do have to be careful with cooking as they will readily turn to a pile of mash in the saucepan, but as an early they are ideal.

  24. Sarpo Mira and Axona Growth

    By Kirsten Williams 23-08-2011

    Grown in clay soil Bristol 2011. Both varieties had good growth (with potato fertiliser) and limited additional watering, primarily just rainfall. Compared to other varieties, they were healthy and fully flowered by mid August. No signs of any infection (I have a garden usually plagued by blight, slug damage, potato scab). Dug up yesterday, and have had load of healthy tubers, maybe not quite as abundant as the Charlottes (salad potatoes) which I regularly grow in my heavy clay soil, which always crop well. Definitely the best 2 main crops I have ever grown (in 5 years). I would recommend these to anyone who has clay soil, overburdened with slugs and usually prone to late summer blight. I will definitely be buying both of these seed potatoes again for my main potatoes. They are reliable, pest and disease free, abundant crops. Late Aug digging has been perfect timing, will be interesting to see how well they store, will post then...

  25. OK they are uber vigorous but spuds are awful

    By Ellen Kunec 09-07-2011

    Yes all of the above is true, the plants are vigorous and blight tolerant but the potatoes are horrible, Great if you are trying to feed the starving masses but why go through all the hard work growing them when you can buy any old potatoes from a layby for 4.99 a sack? and believe me they will be better eating than these, if fact even the sack will be better eating. Horrible.

  26. Spuds Spuds Spuds

    By Zakir Rehman 15-05-2011

    Bought 20 tuber as a special offer from Thompson & Morgan in April. One monthe alter they are already growing, Excellent value, great service, and good quality as always,

  27. Sarpo Mira

    By Anthony Powell 03-10-2010

    When all the other potato plants are dying from blight, and you're lucky to find an unaffected tomato, there's Sarpo Mira standing green against the onslaught. While there are limits to how much it can take - all the spores from adjacent plots, and the current damp weather, are reason for some surgery - they're still, in early October, sending carbohydrates to fill their tubers. Which are value-for-money tubers, evidently rich in starch to keep you warm through the winter.

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.