Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Begonia 'Apricot Shades'

Begonia x tuberhybrida 'Apricot Shades Improved' F1 Hybrid

Half-hardy Perennial

 Customer Rating
A best seller, Begonia 'Apricot Shades' is as versatile as it is beautiful! Large, cascading double blooms in sunshine shades of apricot and lemon will pour from your containers from July to October. These tuberous begonias will perform whatever the weather, in sun or semi shade. The trailing habit of Begonia 'Apricot Shades' makes them ideal for hanging baskets, window boxes and flower pouches for a really impressive display that will light up even a shady corner. Height: 30cm (12"). Spread: 45cm (18").

Culinary note: Some parts of these flowers are edible. For more details about edible flowers click here.

Ideal For:
patio
Flowering Period:
July, August, September, October
Position:
sun or semi shade, dappled shade
    • 5 jumbo plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £9.99
    • 15 jumbo plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £14.99
    • 24 plug plants

    • + FREE £5 voucher  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £13.99
    • 48 plug plants

    • + FREE £5 voucher  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £18.99
    • 100 jumbo plug plants

    • SAVE £99.81  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £159.80 £59.99
Begonia plugs can be planted straight into flower pouches but are best potted on first and grown on in bright, frost-free conditions if they are to be displayed in baskets, window boxes, pots and beds. Begonia plants can be transplanted into their final containers once they have increased in size. When all risk of frost has passed, acclimatise begonia plants to outdoor conditions over a period of 7 to 10 days, before placing them in their final positions. Choose a sunny or semi shaded position that is protected from strong winds.
Feed and water plants frequently throughout the growing season taking care not to over-water, as this will cause new begona flower buds to drop. Deadhead the single female begonia flowers to encourage more of the large double male flowers to be produced and to extend the flowering period.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. begonia 48 plug plants

    By linda atkinson 12-04-2014

    post man left outside and not though letter box but Thompson and morgan replaced the order all the plants are doing well thanks for the great back up the sort of thing you expect from a great company

    Natalie
    15-04-2014

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  2. Survivors!

    By Suzanne Rush 23-03-2014

    I'm not a great gardener, and these were my first begonias, so was not expecting much of them. First, a late frost kicked in, and I did nothing to help the poor things: I assumed they were all but dead and ignored them as write offs. However, only three shrivelled away entirely, and when I poked at the others, I saw the leaves had stayed, still yellowing, but now had a terrible ant infestation. Evicted the ants, removed the first three and one more that looked chewed to mush. And then a massive heatwave hit while I was away. But, few weeks after all this, I had five of the nine in full bloom, and they were an absolute delight: very bushy and bright, with lush green leaves and no sign of being any the worse for the mistreatment. I've ordered more for this year, and hopefully with a bit more care I'll have an even prouder display, but I am still amazed at exactly how hardy these are, given how fussy everyone more competent than I told me begonias are.

    Joe
    24-03-2014

    Thank you for your review, I hope we can continue to be of good service.

  3. Arrived in very poor condition

    By Kevin Knight 18-03-2014

    I ordered 5 jumbo plugs. They arrived yesterday - these are not what I would call "jumbo". 3 of the plugs look OK and I'm sure they will grow on now that I've repotted them. The other 2 plugs are very weak (1 has only 1 leaf attached, whereas the other has been detached from it's roots). They were all extremely dry.

    Joe
    19-03-2014

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your two of the plugs arrived in a poor condition. We can see that you have contacted our customer care department and they have issued a replacement collection when stock next arrives.

  4. Brilliant

    By Shirley Wiltshire 30-09-2012

    Every plug plant grew and developed into very sturdy plants. They produced a blaze of colour that brightened up our garden even on the dreariest of summer days. Everyone who visited us commented on how lovely our wall and hanging baskets looked. I will certainly be ordering more of the same for next year

  5. Stunning!

    By Denise Doherty 15-09-2012

    Although they took a while to grow to a flowering size, they are now stunning. The colours blend so well together and the size of each individual flower is fantastic. They are certainly eye catching and have done so well considering the amount of rain we have had this year. I will definitely be ordering again for next year.

  6. Thank you

    By June Dukes 05-09-2012

    These plants have brought us enormous pleasure this year. The first time we have tried them but without a doubt they will be in our hanging basket again next year. We live very near Clarks Village in Somerset and I am always sooooo envious of their wonderful hanging baskets. This year ours is definitely competing!!

  7. wonderful colour

    By isabella tiernan 19-08-2012

    This is my fourth year buying these lovely plants but this year I finnaly managed to store quite a large amount from last year, the were a little slower to establish but now we have a lovely display, that being said I still order my new plugs every year and have just ordered my 2013. The colour is just amazing and I have to smile every time i look at the baskets, pouches and tubs, as you can see I am a big fan of Apricot Begonias. I start mine off in conservatory as i dont have green house.

  8. Show Stoppers

    By Heather Evans 15-08-2012

    This colourful cascade of 'Apricot Shades' in hanging pouches, has brought my shady, fence to life. I really am impressed. The ones in the south facing hanging basket have tolerated winds, heavy rain and heat and still look amazing.

  9. Superb plants but.......

    By DAVID BULL 01-08-2012

    Great plants yes once they have established, but I have found them to be very slow to get going from the plugs, which are rather small.. I always pot them up straight away in my greenhouse, and inevitably one or two rot off. However, they are superb plants once they have reached a reasonable size, and I can't praise them enough. Just wish they would grow a little faster.

  10. Plants which make a really good show.

    By Marjorie Kellington 10-07-2012

    Bought these last year and was so impressed I've bought them again this year.. I left the previous years plants in their baskets hung in the greenhouse and most survived, so have got even more this year.. Last year they were much admired with several people enquiring what they were ,and this year they are looking lovely once again..

  11. Excellent plant

    By lauren bevan 22-06-2012

    Great growers, have come back this year and look amazing. I left them in the ground and they have all come back, also left the corns in wall baskets where I have lost a few but two are looking lovely. Would recommend these to others.

  12. Excellent plugs and growing well

    By Stephen Linden Wyatt 28-03-2012

    This is my first year and although we are not into flowering season and the plugs are still in my greenhouse, i felt i had to leave a review. These plugs arrived in an excellent condition and are growing very well. They have almost already filled their pots and can not wait to see them in their basketts. I will add another review in the summer when they are flowering but so far, so good.

  13. Reliable Performance Begonias

    By Rosemary Brown 27-10-2011

    I have been growing these Begonias for the last 3 years. Even this year when all nature seems out of sinc they have been and in late October still are absolutely beautiful. They look good both in shallow pots and hanging baskets and are the brightest flowers in the garden. They will deffinitely be onmylist again next year.

  14. begonia

    By joslin meeks 16-10-2011

    these begonias have been and are still wonderfull,they flower for ages,i love them and will definitely buy them again,great in baskets.

  15. Spectacular hanging baskets

    By Caroline Broome 05-09-2011

    These spectacular begonias are the highlight of the garden right now. Having thought begonias were dull and boring before I am now completley converted! They have flowered continuously since June; rain, wind, dry or sunny. They self dead-head and their zingy blooms just keep on coming.

  16. First Time User

    By sidney smith 19-08-2011

    This is my first time using your products. You supplied the begonias to me at the correct time for planting, they arrived in excellent condition. I only lost two plants through poor positioning on my own behalf. The flowers are now in full bloom in my baskets and form a magnificent display that has been much admired by my neighbours. I will definitely use your products again,and will recommend your products to all. Thanks.

  17. Great colour

    By Peter Ransom 16-08-2011

    Very pretty blooms, easy to grow and tolerate some neglect. I have these growing in pots in full sun and they look great. With the weather being so hit and miss lately the pots have dried up from time to time but these Begonias seem to bounce back to health quickly following a good soaking. The only down side is that the large flowers do tend to make quite a mess when the odd one drops off so I would suggest not growing them on a patio or over gravel.

  18. A spectacular display of colour

    By Pam Pearce 11-08-2011

    I have these in a hanging basket in the sun at the front where they have attracted many compliments about the profusion of their large, sunny coloured blooms. At the back they are in partial shade but still the pot lights up the patio giving an illusion of sunshine even on a cloudy day. Well worth growing and easy to tend.

  19. Jury's out

    By Dee Lewis 08-08-2011

    Yes, the flowers are simply gorgeous - soooo pretty! However, they really haven't done particularly well for me. Maybe I've done something wrong but they haven't lived up to the promise of 'cascading blooms' etc. Very pretty though and maybe they'll improve as the season goes on as conditions have been rather trying this year!

  20. A basket of sunshine

    By Christine Burgess 08-08-2011

    Not really being a begonia lover in the past, I decided, for a change, to purchase the trailing begonia tubers in Apricot shades earlier in the year. They have proved to be an excellent purchase by providing a wonderful show of colour on my patio whatever the weather. They look like a basket of sunshine and I am now hooked and intend to grow more begonias next year. I would certainly recommend this variety without hesitation.

  21. The Envy of all Neighbours

    By Anthony Straker 31-07-2011

    Have grown these for the last five our maybe six years and have given out details to so many friends & neighbours, its getting like a competition. They never fail me I always have a magnificent show and it brings pleasure to all who pass.

  22. Trailing Begonias as they are ment to be

    By Stephen Shipley 21-07-2011

    I Bought the combs approx april time and was encourgaged to find then quick growing under the green house conditions. After the frosts had passes they have come into their own both growing quickly and blooming extremely well. Buying online is sometimes a dodgy business but i now have a trough basket crammed with beautiful begionias thanks to thompson and morgans. I

  23. It wouldn't be Summer with out them

    By Diana Eastwood 16-06-2011

    My favourite trailing begonia.. I've one first prizes in garden competitions and flowers in bloom competitions for best front garden in my town which I've won and been placed for 6 years running with the same begonias that came from T&M The plugs that come are always strong and in good condition and just need planting on in window boxes baskets look great in Patio bags wall bag that all can be brought on line from T&M ... Mix or planted on ther own just wonderful The colours are outstanding and look wonderful in all weathers..they never let you down.. from June to first frost.. just store through the winter and away they go again in early summer ... what more could you ask from a plant

  24. Beautiful Display

    By DEBBIE CRESSWELL 08-06-2011

    These have produced the best hanging baskets that I have ever made. My neighbours asked me if the flowers were real. My mum has purchased them this year. She lost some of hers and Thomson and Morgan Customer service team sent her some replacements. I have always found the customer Service Team more than helpful. If you have a problem let them know. I would highly recommend these plants.

  25. Still as good as always

    By Susan Docherty 05-06-2011

    I've been buying these every year now since I first bought them for T&M. The plants this year took a little while longer to establish this year, I've still got two baskets in the greenhouse waiting to be put out. I think the problem has been the weather, the two flower pouches I hung out a few weeks ago have been slow taking away, the winds and rain battered them about a bit , but they are coming away now, not as big as the ones I kept in the greenhouse, but getting there. These are my ABSOLUTE favourite basket plants, I always try them using them in different ways, this year they are in the window boxes with petunia phantom, looking forward to that display. also got 2 flower pouches and two hanging baskets of them. Last Year I had them on the Lamp post outside my house, I've got a stunning photo of that display , its a pity i cant post a photo.

  26. Questionable Improvement!

    By Jillian Swift 31-05-2011

    I'm a true fan of Begonia 'Apricot Shades', or should that say was. Having used this spectacular variety for a number of years with great success in my many Flower Pouches, i had no hestitation in placing my usual order. I have found that this year, for the first time ever, this batch has been nothing short of a disaster. I have now lost well over half of my plants despite the weather being very favourable here. Whether this has anything to do with the 'New Improved!' variety remains to be seen. I must admit i'm not a fan of adding extra shades to this variety, it just doesn't need it. Maybe the tinkering has weakened the plants, i'm not sure, all i can say is i'm absolutely gutted that for the first time in years, i won't have 'Apricot Shades' in Flower Pouches at the front of my home, the few survivors will be dotted around in various other planters instead. I hope T&M read these comments, sometimes you don't need to tinker with perfection!

  27. Superb Flowering Pouches

    By Graham Beaumont 23-05-2011

    This is now the forth time I have purchased these items as I wanted to have an orange/yellow theme for my courtyard garden. The plugs arrived well packed and potted on very well. They established really quickly and within a few weeks I transplanted them into my Flower Pouches another great purchase(wb09229). I had a fabulous wall of colour all summer long and lasting into November as my courtyard is fairly well protected. These items are a must for anyone wanting an easily maintained splash of summer long amazing blooms.

  28. Spectacular Window Boxes

    By Barbara Bladen 21-04-2011

    Begonia 'Apricot Shades' plug plants is my first order of every new Spring season. I have now been growing this variety for about 8 years. Theplug plants arrive ready to be potted on and once planted in individual 3" pots, or large cell trays, quickly establish and after about 6-8 weeks in an unheated greenhouse are ready for planting out. Each year I fill my window boxes and pots with Apricot Begonias, Purple cascading Petunias and Red Geraniums. I then fill in any gaps with Lobelia 'Crystal Palace'. At my previous house, we had a 'Yellow Book' garden which was opened to the public for charity under the National Garden Scheme, and what drew the most comments from visitors was the sight of my spectacular window boxes. I really can't recommend this variety of begonia highly enough!

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.