Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Begonia 'Inferno'™

Half-hardy Perennial

 Customer Rating
  • No deadheading
  • All-weather performance
  • Fast-growing plants

Performs superbly - come rain or shine! How's about that for a towering inferno? Possibly the brightest begonia ever - Begonia 'Inferno'- is a brand new variety from a modern breeding programme; offering colour, vigour, all-weather performance and unbeatable flower power. Plants are fast growing; giving almost instant impact, there's no need to deadhead either, so this really is the perfect low maintenance plant! Perfect for baskets, containers, and Flower Pouches™. Height and spread: 30cm (12").


Useful links:

Win prizes in our photo competitions!

Ideal For:
patio
Flowering Period:
July, August, September, October
Position:
sun or semi shade, dappled shade
    • 5 jumbo plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £11.99
    • 10 jumbo plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £16.99
Begonia plugs can be planted straight into flower pouches but are best potted on first and grown on in bright, frost-free conditions if they are to be displayed in baskets, window boxes, pots and beds. Begonia plants can be transplanted into their final containers once they have increased in size. When all risk of frost has passed, acclimatise begonia plants to outdoor conditions over a period of 7 to 10 days, before placing them in their final positions. Choose a sunny or semi shaded position that is protected from strong winds.
Feed and water Begonia plants frequently throughout the growing season taking care not to over-water, as this will cause new begonia flower buds to drop. Deadhead faded begonia flowers regularly to extend the flowering period and encourage more blooms to be produced.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Amazing

    By mike edwards 18-10-2014

    What a plant, Planted 5 to a basket and they went berserk cascading 3ft plus, full of bright orange flowers which just stayed on the plant and I did not dead head until late September will be growing these again.

    Natalie
    20/10/14

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  2. Fantastically prolific and beautiful.

    By Lee Hyde 11-10-2014

    I planted five of these in the top of one of those large easy-fill baskets to provide some firey over flow, with some trailing blue lobelias in the top row of windows and some petunias in the bottom. Sadly the lobelias 'burnt out' towards mid-summer and the petunias never really did take off. However, the bergonias lasted and are still looking wonderful now (October) covering the entire basket. I also go a view volunteer vegetable plants (one heritage 'white' cucumber and a tomatoe plant I just noticed last week) and honestly the cucmber volunteer didn't look out of place at all. It spiraled around the basket, using the begonias as a support It's a shame they're not tuberous, else I'd save the corms and replant next year. I'll probably try to overwinter a few cuttings but I wonder, will saved seeds from this 'inferno' variety come true to type or is this a (F1) hybrid? (Sorry for seeking ways to avoid buying more from you T&M. ;-))

    Natalie
    13/10/14

    Thank you for your review. Although the Begonia Inferno is not supplied as a tuber, you can lift the Begonia and overwinter it in a greenhouse or sheltered area. After the Begonia has flowered in its second season, a tuber will form which will allow you to preserve the Begonia for future seasons.

  3. Wow

    By Germaine Asabere 02-06-2014

    I got 5 of these last year and they performed wonders in my garden. True to the care instructions; they are low maintenance but the flowers were in abundance. I didn't bother with them at the end of the season but they seem to be coming back this year. How wonderful. Give them a go.

    Natalie
    02-06-2014

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  4. Buy and buy again.

    By Diane Lian 29-04-2014

    I bought these last year and they flowered their socks off with an amazing vibrant colour. Low maintenance for such as stunning display. I just placed my order for this year. Great for cheering you up on the gloomiest day.

    Joe
    30-04-2014

    Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  5. Too small and damaged

    By Candida Eldridge 14-04-2014

    Received these plugs today after they have been in transit five days. Leaves all fell off when I opened the box. The plug may be big but the plants are only an inch tall. Very disappointing. Not sure if they will survive.

    Natalie
    15-04-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  6. Every garden should have!

    By Elizabeth Kirby 21-01-2014

    Can't wait to see these flowers in full bloom again in my garden. What a delight there were last year, vibrant, fiery red that just bloomed and bloomed. I would highly recommend as I would Thompson and Morgan, who are such a great friendly business with fantastic, quality flowers and exceptional customer service. To new customers - ENJOY!

    Jon
    12-02-2014

    Thanks for your kind words

  7. propagate

    By david Holden 21-09-2013

    can I propagate these for next year

  8. A must buy

    By Angela Jones 02-09-2013

    These plants are amazing. So easy to care for and look absolutely stunning.

  9. Wonderful plants!

    By Larisa Baysangurova 05-11-2011

    I am a beginner in the gardening art and I started with a right partners. Thank you very much for such a beautiful plants! Even I have just moved to the UK and have been on my 9th month of pregnancy I nicely surprised all my neighborhood. It is November outside, my Emma Elizabeth is 5 months old and your wonderful begonia Inferno plants are still flowering making our house special! I simply fall in love with them!

  10. Begonia Inferno Review

    By Susan Wake 28-08-2011

    Extremely pleased with the plants, the flowers are magnificent and make a wonderful hanging basket display

  11. Interesting

    By Amanda Schierz 10-07-2011

    I had no problems with the jumbo plugs. All survived and thrived well. I like this plant because it's "pointy" ! Very good colour. They come on much earlier than the Begonia Apricot Shades so a nice early begonia. I would buy again.

  12. Begonia review

    By Marion Thompson 20-06-2011

    I too was disappointed with my initial order of Begonia Inferno. They arrived completely waterlogged. Consequently only 2 out of the 5 could be saved. But as usual with Thompson & Morgan`s customer service department, they have offered to replace all of them. I have grown these before, so I know eventually the replacements will grow into a beautiful display. Thank you once again to Thompson & Morgan, and in particular to their helpful customer service dept!!

  13. Begonia Inferno

    By Linda Tatum 10-11-2010

    I was very dissapointed with the 1st lot of jumbo plants as they were of 2nd grade quality, I spoke to T & M who arranged for another set to be sent to me, these were top class, they grew & grew & grew, infact here we are 10/11 & they are still blooming, I would highly recommend these I had so many comments from neighbours. I will certainly order these again, & no dead heading, just an occassional sweep up.

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.