Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Geranium 'Black Velvet Mix' F1

Pelargonium, Zonal Geranium, Zonal Pelargonium

Half-hardy Perennial

 Customer Rating
  • Rarely available

Dark, enigmatic foliage makes a startling foil for the beguiling bright blooms of Geranium 'Black Velvet Mix' in four striking colours. The unique black leaves, produced on upright bushy plants, are edged with just a hint of green. This boldly coloured zonal geranium makes a striking addition to pots, beds and borders for long lasting summer colour. Height: 40cm (14”). Spread: 30cm (12”).


Although technically perennial, Pelargoniums are only half hardy and therefore normally treated as annuals in the UK. However, with care, they may be overwintered in a frost free greenhouse.

Ideal For:
patio
Flowering Period:
June, July, August, September, October
Position:
full sun
    • 24 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £12.99
    • 48 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £17.99
    • 72 plug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £22.99
Pot up pelargonium plants and grow them on in warm frost-free conditions. When all risk of frost has passed, gradually acclimatise geraniums to outdoor conditions over a period of 7 to 10 days before transplanting them into their final positions in containers, beds and borders. Plant geraniums in full sun, in any light, non-acidic, well drained soil. Pinch out the growing tip of each stem to encourage branching and form a bushier plant which will produce more flowers later on.
Feed and water geranium plants regularly, particularly during hot, dry periods. Regular deadheading of geranium flowers will encourage further blooms to be produced throughout the summer.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Nice plants but unfortunately mine have all ended up the same colour!

    By Helen Roberts 29-08-2012

    Beautiful foliage, but I have ended up with 50 plants all the same colour - pale salmon pink.

  2. GERANIUM BLACK VELVET

    By DAWN BURNHAM 24-09-2011

    I JUST ADORE THIS PLANT IT HAS FLOWERED FOR A LONG TIME AND STILL GOING STRONG I HOPE I HAVE HAS GOOD ARRAY NEXT YEAR MY ONLY WORRY IS HOW DO I KEEP IT SAFE THROUGH THE WINTER

    Thank you for your comments. A member of our customer service team will be in contact with advise on overwintering this Geranium.

  3. Beautiful Foliage

    By L Smith 31-07-2011

    I look for interesting foliage because it will usually outlast the flowers. These make an excellent contrast to the green/cream variegations and the flowers stand out well against their dark background

  4. Black Velvet plugs

    By Christine Richardson 11-06-2011

    Plugs arrived in very good condition. Potted on and they are now outside. Most of them have really spectacular dark foliage, some though are greener. We are waiting with interest to see how the flowers contrast.

  5. Black Velvet plugs

    By Anthony Bradford 22-04-2011

    Small plants arrived in very good condition and were potted on immediately. After three weeks they have trebled in size and the dark leaves are colouring up lovely. I am really looking forward to seeing the contrast of the leaf colour to the flowers

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.