Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Magnolia 'Sunrise'

Hardy Shrub

 Customer Rating
Creamy goblet shaped flowers with a distinctive red streak are borne on compact stems in spring. This beautiful deciduous shrub has a neat habit making it perfect for growing in small gardens. Magnolia 'Sunrise' makes a spectacular feature for a border or large patio container. Height and spread: 1.8m (6').

 

Ideal For:
patio, low maintenance garden, specimen plant, woodland garden
Flowering Period:
April, May
Position:
sun or semi shade
    • 1 bareroot plant

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of December 2014
    • £16.99
Plant magnolias in a sunny or semi shaded position with protection from cold winds and hard spring frosts. Magnolias prefer a rich, moist, well drained, acid to neutral soil. Incorporate plenty of well rotted manure or garden compost to improve the soil prior to planting, mixing it thoroughly and deeply. Magnolia plants establish quicker when their roots are shaded. Following planting, apply a mulch of rotted bark chips, manure or garden compost, taking care not to mound it around the stem of the plant.
When growing magnolia Sunrise in a patio container use a blend of ericaceous compost mixed with John Innes No. 3.
Water regularly throughout the growing season until young magnolias are fully established. In spring, apply a mulch of well rotted bark chips or garden compost to the base of the plant. Magnolias require little pruning other than to maintain their shape and remove damaged stems or crossing stems.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Response rate worse than poor

    By Charles Pilgrim 11-07-2014

    Response rate from customer care is terrible. Still no response after a working week

    Natalie
    11-07-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. Our Customer care team are working tremendously hard to resolve all as quickly as possible. I am very sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

  2. No growth or sign of life

    By Charles Pilgrim 07-07-2014

    Arrived 7 weeks ago and no sign of life yet even with this good growing weather we have had. Really disappointed.

    Natalie
    07-07-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  3. Magnolia sunrise

    By Andrew Topping 16-06-2014

    Been planted for around 6 weeks in half and half ericaceous and john Inness 3, some leaf buds but none have opened really disappointed .

    Sam
    17-06-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  4. 2014

    By Linda Pace 14-06-2014

    Well its still alive, but hasn't grown and only a few leaves let alone any flowers but it is a magnolia, out of the two branches one has died, so its not looking too promising. 2015 lets see what happens:(

    Natalie
    16-06-2014

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. If you would like to contact our Customer care team on ccare@thompson-morgan.com, one of our agents will be happy to investigate this matter further.

  5. Looking forward to 2014

    By Linda Pace 07-04-2013

    Received mine yesterday, lovely tree, has some buds ont it already (leaf buds) now in a pot of water for a few hours before planting. Lovely size very healthy.

  6. Beautiful

    By nicola brookes 14-10-2012

    I bought it early this year. Its now October and it has taken shape beautifully. I cant wait to see it flower next year.

  7. Hopefull by Irene Novelli 12-09-2012

    By Irene Novelli 12-09-2012

    I purchased a Sunrise Magnolia or my patio early in the year for my patio and was delighted to see when it arrived it was in perfect condition. It was barley three sticks and the difference now is amazing. I planted it as instructed and I know it won't bloom until hopefully next year and I can't wait. This is the first time I have had a Magnolia so I hope I have done everything right, if anyone has any tips for over the cold weather that would be great. I will definatley be ordering again.

  8. Lovely :-)

    By Emma Rowe 23-07-2011

    The tree arrived with me in fantastic condition with young buds along the stems, I potted the Magnolia up as soon as it got to me and within a few weeks the first leaves had unfirled. Just what id expect from T&M lovely and healthy :-D. I have ordered lots form them and will go on to order more!!

  9. beautiful

    By Julie Starrs 01-05-2011

    I purchased this as part of a collection which was on special offer to gardeners world subscribers and what a treat there were 3 in the collection of which this was 1. The plants arrived in perfect condition and i gave 1 to my mother as a extra mothers day present and kept the other 2. As it was a very busy weekend I was unable to plant them straight away so plonked them into a bucket of water to wait until the next day, when I potted them up into large container.where within a few day they were coming into bud. They are doing very well and I would definatly reccommend them. The price compared very well to my local garden center where I had price the same plant a week prior to purchase. Initially I was a little nervouse about buying plants online however didnt need to worry as it arrived well packed and in a very fresh condition. I have subsequently placed another order and undoubtedly will do so again

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.