Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Fuchsia 'Lady Boothby' (Hardy)

Hardy Shrub

 Customer Rating
Fuchsia 'Lady Boothby' was bred from an original Brazilian species in 1939 and named after the founder of the British Fuchsia Society. Bright two-tone flowers adorn its red stems that stop at nothing when it comes to climbing! Provide a little support and it'll clothe trellis, arches, walls and fences in no time at all. Extremely vigorous and hardy so you can look forward to repeat performances from climbing Fuchsia 'Lady Boothby' year after year. Height: 3m (10'). Spread: 90cm (36").

Culinary note: Some parts of these flowers are edible. For more details about edible flowers click here.

Ideal For:
patio, walls and fences, wildlife gardens
Flowering Period:
June, July, August, September
Position:
sun or semi shade
    • 3 Postiplug plants + climbing frame

    • SAVE £5.99  
    • Despatch:
    • £20.98 £14.99
    • Out of stock
    • 3 Postiplug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £8.99
    • 9 Postiplug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £14.99
    • 15 Postiplug plants

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of March 2015
    • £17.99
Pot up Fuchsia 'Lady Boothby' using well drained compost such as John Innes No.3, and grow on in warm, frost-free conditions. Pinch out the growing tips while fuchsia plants are still small to promote bushier growth and more flowers. When plants are well grown and all risk of frost has passed, gradually acclimatise them to outdoor conditions over a 7 to 10 day period, before planting them in their final positions in patio containers and sunny or semi shaded borders. Choose a site where they are protected from cold winds over winter. Provide a sturdy support, such as a plant climbing frame or trellis, to supprt the long stems of climbing fuchsias as they grow.
Feed and water regularly throughout the growing season. Deadhead faded fuchsia flowers to encourage more blooms to be produced, and tie the stems to their supports with twine or soft plant ties. Apply a deep bark mulch around the base of hardy fuchsias in autumn to protect the roots from winter cold. Prune out the oldest stems in spring when the fresh buds begin to break, and reduce the remaining stems to restrict their vigorous growth to the available space.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Great climber!

    By Alan Kent 31-08-2012

    Ordered 15 plugs last year and really can't believe how well they have done. Best results climbing up a fence and long lasting blooms. Good value for money.

  2. Very Hardy

    By Gemma Morant 25-06-2012

    Bought these 2 years ago, they have survived the real hard winters without any spacial help and have come back again.

  3. little jewels

    By jyoti bhargava 25-10-2011

    I bought 2 of these this summer ,which are going on strong and look like shiny little jewels in a dark corner of my garden with their striking colour and vigour ; very easy to grow and don't need any special care. highly recommended plants.

  4. Excellent plants

    By Jane Carr 13-09-2011

    Bought these early in the year, potted them up into 9cm pots and they needed the next size up within a fortnight! Now have 2 planted out, about 4 foot tall and flowering well and three to give away as Xmas presents. Highly recommended.

  5. Fushia

    By Carl Curtis 12-09-2011

    Balls & balls of colourful flowers.They are still flowering,dripping over the side of my pots,south facing so we can see from our French doors.

  6. Daniel c

    By Daniel Czerwiwiec 06-09-2011

    I was very delighted by these plants! After a slow start because of the bad summer we have had they really tock off. They have done a lot better than i was expecting with lots of nig flowers and a suprisingly big plant. I am very happy with my purches and i will be getting some more next year .

  7. fantastic fuschias

    By fiona paul 27-08-2011

    the Lady Boothby Fuschias have grown so tall and lush - they are growing with my clematis and look fantastic!

  8. Lady Boothby Fuschia

    By gillian rennie-dunkerley 26-08-2011

    The 5 plants arrived looking very tiny and unprepossessing so I potted them all into one pot where they were swamped by the pea twigs I also placed in the pot. 2 months later it was tthe opposite with no sign of the pea twigs and an incredible jungle of lush leaves and the most delightful waterfall of delicate, swinging blooms. I placed the pot in a border and the fuchias have continued to grow amongst day lilies so there is a truly exotic tumble of shape, form and colour. I shall use them much more in the whole garden design next year as their potential is endless

  9. Lady Boothby Fuchsias

    By Phil Wilson 16-08-2011

    Last year, I bought 15 of these - thinking I would lose several. But I have them all! They are growing in large (24") pots, up trellises, up pea netting against 6 foot fencing and a couple have gone to the children! I have grown fuchsias for many years but not seen anything like these. I expected the small flowered 'hedge' variety but these are really as good as the photos. They grow anywhere (better in full sun with shadded roots.) As with Rod, I look forward to next year when they will be even better I hope.

  10. Lady Boothby

    By Sheralyn Pilkington 16-08-2011

    My three small plants arrived in good condition in April and i grew them on in my greenhouse. In late May i planted them in a border to grow up an obelisk. To say they took off would be an understatement,i was amazed! I tied them in as they grew and now barely three months later they are almost six feet tall and bushy and covered in the most gorgeous flowers. I have always adored Fuchsias but this one is now my favourite! Fantastic value for money,thankyou!

  11. Lady Boothby

    By Hazel Banks 15-08-2011

    Purchased three of these, two of them died, the other one looks stunning very bushy and full of flower. Information came with the plants on how to care for in the summer months, but did not give any information on how to care for them through the winter.

  12. Brilliant

    By Rod Journeaux 14-08-2011

    I bought five plugs and they are in five different positions in relation to sunshine and, in some cases, soil conditions. All five have really flourished in a short time and have quickly started climbing up the supports provided. I can't wait to see them in more mature shape next year. Very pleased!

  13. Vigorous plants

    By Mark McGavin 14-08-2011

    Vigorous grower, good display of blooms. Grew them up a trellis, which they have covered very well. Will be interesting to see if they survive the winter.

  14. August 2011

    By Brenda Eggleston 14-08-2011

    I was attracted to these because they are hardy and climbing, but I was aware from someone elses review that they did not cling on their own and that they needed tying in as they grew. I bought three plugs which all took, I planted them in large pots in front of a trellis about four feet high and they are now towering over this. I have snipped off a few tips and planted them as cuttings and a few have died but some have taken, without any rooting powder and they are in full sun most of the day. Well worth the price and I hope I can keep them over the winter, they have given a good display and I just love fuschias.

  15. Wonderful display

    By Ann Lovett 14-08-2011

    First time I have grown Lady Boothby. They are now in full bloom and give another dimension to my display of standard and trailing fuschias. Everyone who has seen them hsve commented on their height and colour. I will overwinter ithem in the greenhouse with my other fuschias for a repeat show next year. I always buy my fuschia plugs from T&M as you can rely on the quality, or replacement if you do get a poor batch.

  16. so far so good

    By Lesley Hodge 14-08-2011

    I bought five of these plants earlier this year to grow up the netting of a fruit cage which encloses our pond to protect the fish from persistant heron attacks. One of the plants died not long after planting out, but the other four are now doing well. The blooms are very pretty and will look lovely when they gain more height.. I hope they survive the winter.

  17. The Fabulous Lady Boothby

    By Jane Candel 14-08-2011

    Have lived up to their description. Climbed very quickly with a mass of flowers. Very pleased with the result especially as a number of neighbours walking by have expressed their pleasure at looking at them. Will definitely be buying more.

  18. Fuchsia Lady Boothby

    By Kirsty Letton 14-08-2011

    I bought three plugs and gave one away. One that I have has only grown few inches, the other one is healthy but not flowering yet and only grown to 12 inches. The one I gave away has just started to show a flower and is probably a little taller. Slightly disappointed as I had expected the plants to 'climb'!

  19. Shooting Upwards

    By Ian Keeling 10-08-2011

    Arrived as 15 small plugs but are growing strongly, I've only lost 1 which I think is good. My only criticism is that they shouldn't have nipped them out as this is a climber and I wanted to train a few as standards.

  20. NOT AS HARDY

    By MINNIE CATO 05-05-2011

    I BOUGHT 15 JUMBO PLUGS LAST YEAR. GAVE A FEW AWAY AS GIFTS, KEPT THEM ALL IN POSTS AND LAST WINTER WRAPPED SEVERAL OF THEM IN BUBBLE WRAP AND SEVERAL IN FLEECE. BUT NOT ONE OF THEM SURVIVED THE HARSH WINTER. THAT DID NOT DETER ME FROM ORDERING MORE THIS YEAR AS THEY ARE MAGNIFICENT WHEN IN BLOOM . WILL PUT A FEW IN THE POTTING SHED OVER WINTER AND ONE IN CONSERVATORY TO SEE IF IT SURVIVES THIS WINTER

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.