Thompson & Morgan

Important delivery notice
The products on this site are only delivered to UK addresses. If you require delivery to another country please visit one of our other sites below.

Rollover image for an enlarged view

Raspberry 'Polka' (Autumn fruiting)

Rubus idaeus

Hardy Shrub

 Customer Rating
  • Customer favourite

Autumn fruiting.

Undoubtedly one of the best autumn-fruiting raspberry introductions in recent years! This superb Polish bred primocane variety produces up to double the yield of its parent, Raspberry 'Autumn Bliss', and crops at least 2 weeks earlier. Once established, each plant can produce up to 2.5kg of large, deep-red berries with a deliciously sweet flavour that can be harvested from late July through to October.The vigorous, virtually spine-free plants also show good disease resistance and cope well to produce a reasonable crop in gardens with less desirable soils. All of our raspberries have been inspected by the Ministry of Agriculture for pests and diseases and certified. The bare root plants are hand graded and carefully selected before packing. Height: 150cm (59”). Spread: 50cm (20”).


Estimated time to cropping once planted: 4-8 months.
Estimated time to best yields: 16-20 months.


Useful links:

How to grow raspberries

Ideal For:
patio, kitchen garden, wildlife gardens
Flowering Period:
June, July, August
Position:
full sun
    • 1 x 3 litre potted raspberry plant

    •  
    • Despatch:
    • £19.99
    • Out of stock
    • 3 raspberry canes

    •  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £9.99
    • 6 raspberry canes

    • SAVE £2.99  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £19.98 £16.99
    • 12 raspberry canes

    • SAVE £14.97  
    • Despatch: By end of May 2014
    • £39.96 £24.99
Grow autumn fruiting raspberry plants in a sunny position in any well drained soil. Prior to planting, incorporate plenty of well rotted manure or garden compost into the planting hole. Plant raspberry canes in rows allowing a distance of 60cm (24") between plants. Firm in and water well. Canes should be pruned to 30cm (12") immediately following planting to encourage more shoots to be produced. Autumn fruiting varieties do not require supports for their stems. They can also be grown in large containers of soil based compost such as John Innes no.3.
Water well for the first year until plants are fully established. When berries begin to develop, place a net over the plants to protect the crop from birds. Prune raspberry canes to ground level each February and apply a mulch of well rotted manure or garden compost to the base of the canes. This will help to retain moisture throughout the summer. Culinary note: Suitable for freezing.

Seeds and garden supplies will normally be delivered within the time period stated against each product as detailed above. Plants, bulbs, corms, tubers, shrubs, trees, potatoes etc are delivered at the appropriate time for planting and will be stated on the product page or in your order acknowledgement page and email.


Orders for packets of seed incur a P&P charge of £1.95.
Orders which include any other products will incur a P&P charge of £4.95.
Where an order includes both packets of seeds and other products a maximum P&P charge of £6.90 will apply - regardless of the number of items ordered.


Please see our Delivery / P&P page for further details and details of any surcharges that may apply to certain destinations.

Reviews
  1. Great buy!

    By Pauline Harker 05-03-2014

    Bought 6 canes of these last year for my new allotment and they fruited in the first year and were delicious!! Hoping for an even better crop this year! Thank you for your review. I hope we can continue to be of service.

  2. Tasty!

    By Anita Thomas 30-07-2013

    Although the leaves on some canes are being totally stripped to a skeleton by some critter (probably snails), the canes are still producing lots of tasty fruit. I didn't realise that they would grow so tall, however, and didn't prepare my wires to be high enough to properly support them (they are definitely NOT self-supporting).

  3. Loving this item

    By Richard Haime 02-06-2012

    they really have shot up fast, great purchase

  4. Very reliable

    By Artem Babayan 21-05-2012

    Got them in late autumn 2010 and they spent the winter in the garage, with roots wrapped in the original package -- not very good idea, really. Amazingly, all had sprouted once being planted in March next year and I have even got a small crop. This year they expanded considerably -- looking forward for a decent yield.

  5. Raspberry 'Polka'

    By Eileen Kearins 07-08-2011

    I bought three Polka canes which were delivered last November, I didn't expect anything from them this year, they are looking very green, strong and healthy and suddenly they have produced large sprays of raspberries which I am looking forward to enjoying. I would recommend this type.

  6. Really great raspberries

    By John Bagnall 05-06-2011

    I bought one of these canes a couple of years ago and because of the flavour just had to buy 3 more this year. Although one cane looked as though it was not going to make it, sure enough it is catching up with its siblings and looking good for a small crop this year!

  7. I don't believe it.

    By Jean bickerton 22-04-2011

    I am sending a review about my 'Polka' raspberry plants purchased march this year. I am so pleased at the way their have taken also they are looking so good. I am very excited for next year when the crop will be just as good. Thank you

  8. Very happy

    By Samantha Roberts 15-11-2010

    I had 6 canes bought for me as a Christmas present and they arrived in the November ready for planting. They didn't look like much at the time, but in the Spring grew away well and have fruited this year. I have just picked the last few berries in early Nov 2010 and got about 2.5kg off the 6 plants! They were huge berries and tasted lovely - I am very pleased with them. I would suggest that although they are pretty upright canes to about 5ft, that you do tie them up, so it is easier to work around them. Recommended

  9. Planting Advice

    By Christopher Cheatle 13-11-2010

    Not clear to me whether this Polka Variety requires posts and wires or whether, like autumn fruiting varieties, this additional care is unnecessary.

Post a review
Title of review


Rating 1 2 3 4 5
Comment
You will be redirected to login/registration page to post your review.
Reviews are subjected to approval.